What does a half bushel of apricots cost?

August 14, 2011 at 12:30 am 3 comments

3 hours of cooking

4 loads of dishes (water, dish soap, and vinegar)

2 hours of prep  (I used to be worth $13.00/hour but now I am only worth $9.00)

2 trips to your mother’s house  (gas is $3.50/gallon)

$12.50 for pectin

1 1/2 cup lemon juice

$3.00 for seals

40 cups of sugar …. 25 lbs of sugar is currently $15.00 @ Sam’s Club

$2.00 for a half bushel of apricots that were mostly past the point of ripe.

Patience –  although it is free it is necessary because you NEED to work with your spouse.

I spent two hours last night cleaning and prepping.  Almost every apricot was mushy so I cut off what was brown or not appealing, removed the pit and saved the rest.  Johnny put 24 cups of apricots into two ziploc bag with 1 cup lemon juice and placed them in the freezer over night.  Today at 3:00 we started bottling jam; we finished at 6:00.  I miss my mom – this is her job.  She has provided jam for the last thirty seven years.   Every time the mess is in her kitchen and I am at home oblivious to all of her hard work. Wow I am spoiled.  Thanks mom….sorry that I did not realize this before.

Entry filed under: My Journal.

Patience…. Does this ever happen to you?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MichaelEdits  |  August 14, 2011 at 12:38 am

    All true, and we both know it’s worth every penny.

    Reply
  • 2. Lindsey  |  August 14, 2011 at 3:13 am

    can I have some… I don’t want to get my kitchen diry!

    Reply
  • 3. Angela  |  August 21, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    I can give you the name of my guy. He does it for like $2.00 a bottle and no mess. His name is Del, Del Monte. He does ALL my food preservation:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



