Dear mother,

June 15, 2011 at 12:15 am 1 comment

Madeline was assigned to mow the lawn.  This usually requires some input (help) from either Johnny or I.  A few examples of the questions that were asked today:

Dad, where is the lawn mower? (Because apparently she was too lazy to really look for it.  It is a lawn mower not a set of keys) (Note: Johnny is at work and I am in the house – why would she think to call him)

Mom, what do I do with this flag? (Duh, either mow around it or move it.)  I did not use the Duh in my reply but I did think about it.  I asked if she needed help and she said no.  Minutes later I see her outside with a screw driver in one hand (the flag in the other) trying to pound the stake into the ground.  I put on my shoes, walked out side and handed  her a hammer.

A few more minutes pass and the mower stopped unexpectedly.  I mentioned that it might be out of gas.  I put on my shoes and started out the door.  She replied w/”I can do it I am not retarded!” (sassy and loud demeanor).  I retreated back inside.  Seconds later she comes and asks “What gas do I use?” (I am laughing).  I come outside to help and decide that the gas right inside the garage will work.  I attempt to help her pour it into the gas tank – but according to her I ALWAYS spill it.  I decided that once again my helping her is not worth my time and I went back inside.

Seconds later I receive this text.

Dear mother, I apologize for being sassy & rude independent goat.  I love you, Thanks for your help.  I am a little retarded.

Entry filed under: Letters To Maddie, My Journal.

Only 9 More Days of School Kayaking..

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lindsey  |  June 15, 2011 at 2:48 am

    That’s funny I miss her! love you guys

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



