Baked Corn Dogs

April 15, 2011 at 8:19 am Leave a comment

With every recipe I have my own version.  It is not because I think that the recipe is bad,  it is more less based on laziness, lack of ingredients, or convenience.  My version of baked corn dogs is because of calories and a little laziness.

I omit putting them on a greased cookie sheet.   I use parchment paper – A must have in every kitchen!

I omit the black sesame seeds.  I do not feel it is necessary to buy one more spice!

I skip brushing the final product with egg. Lazy!

I use a full hotdog, and omit the stick.  I would just throw the stick away so why bother.

Make sure that when you are rolling them out that the dough is thin.  Remember you are rolling the dough around a hotdog, by having a  very thick dough around your hot dog.  (think ratio)  (I made this mistake once or twice)

I double the batch and divide into thirds after it has risen.  I then tightly wrap in saran wrap then in aluminum foil, and place in the freezer.  In order to thaw remove aluminum foil, place dough in a plastic bowl and cover with saran wrap.  It takes about 8 hours to thaw.

Leftovers reheat well – I wrap leftovers (in aluminum foil) in individual servings and store in the refrigerator.  To reheat place in a 350 degree oven for about 15 minutes.

 

 

Entry filed under: Main Dishes.

Breaking News! What’s the big deal…. Things to think about

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



