Resolutions to be better….

January 14, 2010 at 9:34 am Leave a comment

I try not to set resolutions.  I think that it is an opportunity to fail.  I think that goals should be set in small achievable goals to reach the one big goal that feels out of reach.  That being said I did find an article that will not only be a resolution for the year but something that I will continuing working on throughout my life time.

The talk begins with the story of Lot.  Most of us are familiar with the story of how Lot and his family left the wicked city within minutes of it being destroyed.  “Escape for thy life,” the Lord said. “Look not behind thee … ; escape to the mountain, lest thou be consumed” (Genesis 19:17)  But his wife looked back from behind him, and she became a pillar of salt. (Genesis 19:26)

Elder Jeffery R. Holland:  “Just what did Lot’s wife do that was so wrong? As a student of history, I have thought about that and offer a partial answer. Apparently, what was wrong with Lot’s wife was that she wasn’t just looking back; in her heart she wanted to go back. It would appear that even before she was past the city limits, she was already missing what Sodom and Gomorrah had offered her. As Elder Neal A. Maxwell (1926–2004) of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles once said, such people know they should have their primary residence in Zion, but they still hope to keep a summer cottage in Babylon.

I have thought this for about two weeks.  (hopefully I can keep this talk in my heart all year)  How often do I want something so much that I am willing to give up what the Lord would have me do?  For example:  The arguements with my husband.  I am determined to win every battle.   It does not matter if my argument is complete nonsense, or I throw out something awful that happened five or eight years old;  I’m so determined to “win” that I fight no matter the consequences (feelings hurt).  Elder Holland mentions that several couples will “reach farther and farther into the past to find yet a bigger brick to throw through the window “pain” of their marriage”  That is not what the Lord has asked of me.   He has asked me to have the pure love of Christ,  to forgive and forget, and be an example.
(Refer to the scriptures that are referenced, the article itself and truly study this talk.   I think that will enlighten all who read it.)

Instead of resolutions I will take this ‘advice’ one week at a time.  Every morning is a chance to be better.

As for my talking nicely for a year (2009), I am not really sure of the outcome.  I know that I have tried, honestly tried but I did have my days when I was unsuccessful.   I will relate an experience.  For several days, weeks, months, I would pray to not swear.   I would try everyday to use kind words, think of something else for the word “@*#%”  and I was doing okay.   Then Johnny and I had a huge fight and when I fight I do not take the time to “think” about what I am saying.   After our argument I cried.  I felt such remorse for my language, not for my husband who I am sure had his feelings hurt but because I had disappointed my Father in Heaven.

I still have to work on my swearing, it is a constant, everyday goal.  I use to think that I could “give up the habit” but I have finally accepted the fact that it will never completely go away.

Entry filed under: My Journal.

Pasta E Fagioli Why I am still here…..

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



