Peanut’s Great Escape

October 17, 2009 at 5:13 pm Leave a comment

Madeline is deer hunting and will be gone for the next 3 days.  Unfortunately, I am now in charge of the bunny.  Taking care of the bunny (especially on the weekends) requires a lot of work. Every Saturday Madeline is  in charge of sweeping out her pen, the back deck,  the cement, and all of the daily things that an extremely spoiled bunny needs.  If she is not here that responsibility falls to Johnny and I.  Now, understand that I do love this bunny and I love her mostly from a distance.  I enjoy having her around but hate all the work she creates.  I think that Madeline should be in charge of all the “crap”.  Anyhoo, enough ranting.  Yesterday, Johnny and I decided to move her cage.  In order to level the grass we needed to add dirt.   He added a whole wheelbarrow full of dirt along the side of the shed and around the front of the pen.  After sweeping and cleaning for about an hour I put peanut away for the night.  This morning at around 11:00 a.m. I went out to bring peanut to the back deck and SHE WAS GONE!  Sad, but I was a little relieved.  I started thinking of all things that I would not have to do.  I decided that I would look in her usual hideouts just so I could say that I had looked for her.  I walked around the side of the house and as I was going toward the front door, there she was.  She was over at the neighbor’s house, hopping back forth across their lawn.  After literally talking to the rabbit for about a minute I was able to catch her and put her on the back deck.  Now she is safe and I do not have to held responsible for ruining Madleline’s life.

Entry filed under: Letters To Maddie, My Journal.

It has been awhile…. The Lasting Effects of Junior High…..

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



