Not Friends…

April 13, 2009 at 1:46 pm 2 comments

Friday morning – we had to be at Classical Strings at 9:00 a.m. to “look” at violins.  8:30 I decided that I needed a shower.  I wake up Madeline and jump in the shower.  I am out by 8:45 and find Madeline in my bed watching cartoons.  I reminded her where we needed to be but she brushed it off.  By 8:56 I swore at my child and in the meanest voice I could I reminded her again where we needed to be.  Her reply – Well if you wouldn’t have gotten in the shower we wouldn’t be late .  Now this is the same girl who is still in her pajamas and has not brushed her teeth.  We arrive 5 minutes late and I am bugged!   After an hour and a half I have decided that there is a difference in sound and she needs a more expensive violin.  1200.00 later we head for home.  Madeline continued with her sassy attitude and I have had it.  I calmly (I hope) I told her that she needed to change her attitude; I hate spending my time off school arguing with her.  I also informed her that she needed to do a few things before we left for Plain City.   She comes to me with open arms and wants to be friends.  I told her that I did not want to be friends and that I am glad she is going to Plain City.  She storms off and screams “Fine” and quickly starts taking care of her rabbit.  Chores are getting done,  YEA!  Meanwhile I am laughing because my evil plan worked.  Johnny often reminds Madeline that she needs her mother fiery  mad in order for her to know that I am serious.  I decided to put it to the test today and it works.  I am in awe.  After a few minutes she came inside and I explained everything.  I did want to be friends but in order for her to focus I needed her to be mad.  Instantly she went back into sloth mode, sat down and wanted some lunch.  

P.S.  For those of you who know Madeline she always wants lunch, dinner, breaksfast or a “smackrel” before, during and after working.  It is a habit I am afraid that will cause her grief later in life.

Entry filed under: My Journal.

One of the Many, Many, Issues! Strawberry Yogurt Dip

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angela  |  April 14, 2009 at 12:50 am

    This was fun to read. I have learned a lot about you & what you have been up to. I am looking forward to more. I love you Emilee & I appreciate your example & testimony:)

    Reply
  • 2. addy white  |  April 16, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    O man i can just see it happen, and i love the word sloth, you know their is a book about a sloth. I think i will get it for you because you have a sloth. and then you will have a sloth book too!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



