A Day of Thanks…

April 10, 2009 at 2:17 pm Leave a comment

Each day I take for granted of the blessings that I have.  The simple things are often over looked.  I try each day to find something to be thankful for.  A few days after I started this I was pulled over by the Ogden City Police and ticketed for not having brake lights.  The “be thankful for something new each day”  helped me to look at this experience in a different way.  I was actually thankful that he pulled me over so that this did not cause problems later.  Crazy, tickets are usually not something that I  find joy in. 

I am thankful for my family.  (Honestly I do complain about my the members of my family for individual reasons but I am thankful that we were taught to help each other in time of need and to love each other unconditionally)  I am thankful for technology.  It allows me to be apart of my sisters lives.   I am thankful the beautiful earth that I am apart of.  I love the mountains, the smell of rain, the grass in my yard, flowers, etc.  I think that nature is something we take for granted daily.  I am thankful for my transportation.  It may not be my “dream car” but it takes to me to and from and prevents me from taking the bus. I am thankful for a washing machine, a dryer, a dishwasher, and electricity.  I am thankful for running water.  I am thankful for my health.  I am thankful for the gospel and the learning experiences that have helped my testimony grow.  I am thankful for my parents.  I am thankful for their example.   I am thankful for my daughter Madeline.  I am thankful that I had the experience of being married to Michael.  I am thankful for the temples.  I am thankful for the freedom that I have.  I am thankful for my grandparents.  I am thankful for the friendship that I have with my sisters (Alyson and Catherine included).  Hopefully one day I can have a closer friendship with Catherine.   I am thankful for my brothers (including my brother-in-laws).  (I could go into much more detail about these persons, places, and things but I have so much more to write).  

I am thankful that I have a job.  I see/hear of many who are unemployed.  A family that I visiting teach (her husband) was asked “Are you looking for a job?” – the reply was no and within minutes he was told that they would be pulling his medical benefits.  This family has three daughters ages 13, 2, and 1.  I am thankful for health insurance.  I HATE my health insurance plan.  Who would love a plan that expects you to pay a $4,000 deductible plus a monthly premium?  However, this is something that I should be thankful for because without it I would still have a very enlarged thyroid in my neck and trouble swallowing.   This brings me to the “I am thankful for Johnny’s job” which is a pretty general thing to be grateful for but I am so blessed that we can pay our bills on time and have food on the table.  I remember being single and that was not always the case.  I am thankful for the government – because of them I am receiving three times the amount of child support.  

There are many other little things that I have found to be thankful for.  A seatbelt. A grocery cart.  Schools.  The volunteer hours of  a school teacher.  The mail.  My legs and my (ugly) feet.  The hands – I spent an entire day thinking about my hands.  I know that for those of you who are reading this are probably thinking – You are STRANGE – but have you ever considered what your hands do all day?   I really could keep going.  There are so many things that I really could keep going but all things must come to an end.  I challenge all who read this to try putting all complaints aside and being grateful for an entire week.

Entry filed under: My Journal.

November 29, 2008 November 14, 2009

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



